

# WESTCHESTER COUNTY CHAPTER, THE ARC NEW YORK ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING June 12, 2018 The Gleeson-Israel Gateway Center

Attendance: Members of the Westchester County Chapter, The Arc New York and guests.

<u>Call to Order</u>: President Rosa Rodriguez called the meeting to order at 5:57pm. A quorum was present.

<u>Approval of Minutes</u>: President Rosa Rodriguez asked for approval of the minutes from the June 13, 2017 Annual Membership Meeting. A motion was made by Anne Nehrbauer to accept the Minutes and seconded by Joe Cassarini. The minutes were unanimously approved by voice vote.

# <u>President's Report</u> – Rosa Rodriguez

- This was Ms. Rodriguez's last meeting as President, and she expressed sincere gratitude for Ric Swierat's leadership.
- The Annual Report was dedicated to Mr. Swierat.

# <u>Treasurer's Report</u> – Katharine Conroy

- 2017 finished in the black. Funding for services is under constant pressure and Ms. Conroy
  expressed that managing to keep us in the black is a tribute to those who run the agency. She
  stressed the importance of letting our representatives at the state and federal level how
  important our services are, and that they need to be well funded.
- A motion to accept the Annual Treasurer's Report was made by Jonathan Ferguson and seconded by Joe Cassarini. The motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

## The Arc Westchester Foundation Report – Elaine Masket, President

- The Foundation's revenue goal was exceeded by \$2,121,335.00. Over \$3 million was contributed to The Arc Westchester for underfunded services, or services with no government funding. Net assets as of 12/31/17 were \$3,883,129.00. We spend 14% to raise a dollar, which means that 86% of every dollar donated is available for the direct benefit of The Arc. We are careful stewards of donor dollars.
- Mr. Swierat was thanked for articulating and embodying our mission, and inspiring donors. Tibi Guzmán has attracted and retained grants, and will be a great partnership going forward.

## **Elections and Oath of Office**

The Nominating Committee presented the following list of nominations to be acted upon by the Chapter membership at its Annual Meeting on June 12, 2018:

1. Patricia Capurso for the position of Board of Directors

- 2. Mary Ellen Connington for the position of Board of Directors
- 3. Katharine Conroy for the position of Board of Directors
- 4. Carolyn Holodak for the position of Board of Directors
- 5. Steven Masket for the position of Board of Directors
- 6. Robert Nuccio for the position of Board of Directors
- 7. Sarah Phelan for the position of Board of Directors
- 8. Rosa Rodriguez for a position on the Nominating Committee
- 9. Jeff Wood for a position on the Nominating Committee
- 10. Danusia Pawska for a position on the Nominating Committee
- 11. Kyle O'Loughlin-Cahill for the position of President Elect
- 12. Katharine Conroy for the position of Secretary
- 13. Mark Glucksman for the position of Treasurer

## Nominated for a 3-year term on the Board:

- Mary Ellen Connington
- Steven Masket

# Nominated for a 2-year term on the Nominating Committee:

- Rosa Rodriguez
- Jeff Wood
- Danusia Pawska

## Nominated for the position of Secretary of the Board:

Katharine Conroy

# Nominated for the position of Treasurer of the Board:

Mark Glucksman

<u>President Remarks and Introduction of New Board President</u> – Rosa Rodriguez

Remarks by Incoming President -Joseph Cassarini

# **Recognition of Retiring Board Members:**

- Patsy Ginese, Robert Hunt, Bernard Krooks, Rita Ross.
- Mr. Ginese received a special award for years of service.

## The Richard P. Swierat Self-Advocate of the Year Award – Ric Swierat

 Patsy Ginese received a special award for years of service. Mr. Swierat expressed that it has been a privilege working with Patsy and learning what it means for self-advocates to have a voice, and to express hopes and dreams. With Patsy's help The Arc was able to achieve Annual Membership Meeting June 2018 Page 3

quality improvement through CQL. Mr. Swierat congratulated Mr. Ginese and thanked him for being our model.

# <u>Comments and Introduction of New Executive Director</u> – Ric Swierat

The meeting adjourned at 6:35pm.

Motion to adjourn: Kyle O'Loughlin-Cahill made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Abby Reuben and passed by unanimous voice vote.

Minutes Respectively Submitted by: Anna M. Ciraco